Ballroom 101 Workshop Ü35 by Georgina Philp alias Leo Saint Lauren // Open Level - motion*s
Top
WORKSHOP 31 MAR

Ballroom 101 Workshop Ü35 by Georgina Philp alias Leo Saint Lauren // Open Level

*****
  • Sunday, 31. March 202414:30 – 17:30
  • Sunday, 14. April 202414:30 – 17:30
  • Sunday, 28. April 202414:30 – 17:30

About the Workshop

Trailblazer Legendary Mother Leo Saint Laurent invites everyone over 35 to learn more about Ballroom and Voguing.  The Ballroom scene is a culture from New York, founded by Black and Latinx trans women in the 60/70s in New York. As this space was founded by and for people affected by discrimination, the physical form of expression cannot be separated from the activist and social work within/outside the Ballroom community.
The workshop will provide a basic understanding of the different performance types and categories in Ballroom, such as Vogue Fem, New Way, Old Way and Runway and Face. The training begins with a warm-up consisting of stretching and strengthening exercises, as well as elements and concepts that are essential in Ballroom such as posing. The exploration of the different categories is based on basic technique exercises and drills, and conceptual freestyle exercises.  High heels are welcome for some styles, otherwise sneakers are recommended. Beginners and non-dancers are very Welcome.
BIPOC and queers are especially invited to participate, but the workshop is open to all. Acceptance of BIPOC and queer people is assumed, as this is the origin of ballroom culture. 
 

About  Georgina Philp aka Leo Saint Laurent

Georgina Philp aka Leo Saint Laurent graduated from the Fontys Dance Academy in Tilburg (Netherlands) in 2008 with a Bachelor of Performing Arts. Since then, she has worked successfully as a freelance performer, choreographer and curator in the European dance and cultural sector. In Ballroom she is known as Legendary Trailblazer Mother Leo Saint Laurent, who organized the first ball in Germany in 2012 as part of the Berlin Voguing Out Festival. She was honored in Atlanta in 2022 as the first Legend in Germany for her main category Women’s European Runway. 
 
Prices
109€* Full Package Workshop
99€* Full Package Workshop for motion*s Members
89€* Full Package Workshop for BIPOC, Queer/Trans People & Ballroom Community
39€* Single Workshop Day
To book the workshop click here.
Free cancellation up to 10h before the start of the workshop.
*incl. VAT 
Fito_Georgina

UPCOMING WORKSHOPS & EVENTS

Ballroom 101 Workshop Ü35 by Georgina Philp alias Leo Saint Lauren // Open Level - motion*s
Top
WORKSHOP 31 MÄRZ

Ballroom 101 Workshop Ü35 by Georgina Philp alias Leo Saint Lauren // Open Level

*****
  • Sonntag, 31. März 202414:30 – 17:30
  • Sonntag, 14. April 202414:30 – 17:30
  • Sonntag, 28. April 202414:30 – 17:30

About the Workshop

Trailblazer Legendary Mother Leo Saint Laurent lädt alle Interessierte über 35 dazu ein, mehr über Ballroom und Voguing zu erfahren. Die Ballroom Szene ist eine Kulturaus New York, gegründet von Schwarzen und Latinx Transfrauen in den 60/70 Jahren in New York. Da dieser Raum von und für Menschen gegründet wurde, die von Diskriminierung betroffen sind, kann die körperliche Ausdrucksform nicht von der aktivistischen und sozialen Arbeit innerhalb und außerhalb der Ballroom-Community getrennt werden.
In dem Workshop wird ein grundliegendes Verständnis für die verschiedenen Performance Arten und Kategorien in Ballroom vermittelt, wie zb. Vogue Fem, New Way, Old Way and Runway und Face.Das Training beginnt mit einem Warm-up, bestehend aus Dehn-und Kräftigungsübungen, sowie Elemente und Konzepte, welch ein Ballroom essenzielle sind wie zb. Posing. Die Erkundung von den verschiedenen Kategorien basiert auf grundlegenden Technikübungen und Drills und konzeptionellen Freestyle-Übungen. Für einige Styles können gerne High Heels mitgenommen werden, ansonsten werdenTurnschuhe empfohlen.
BIPOC und Queers sind ganz besonders eingeladen teilzunehmen, aber der Workshop ist offen für alle. Eine Akzeptanz von BIPOC und Queeren Menschen wird angenommen/ vorausgesetzt, da dies den Ursprung von Ballroom Kultur bildet.

About Georgina Philp alias Leo Saint Laurent

Georgina Philp alias Leo Saint Laurent schloss 2008 ihr Studium an der Fontys Dance Academy in Tilburg (Niederlande) mit einem Bachelor ofPerforming Arts ab. Seither arbeitet sie erfolgreich als freischaffende Performerin, Choreografin und Kuratorin in der europäischen Tanz-und Kulturbranche. In Ballroom ist sie bekannt als Legendary Trailblazer MotherLeo Saint Laurent, welche im Jahr 2012 den ersten Ballin Deutschland im Rahmen des Berlin Voguing Out Festivals organisierte. Sie wurde 2022 in Atlanta als ersten Legend in Deutschlandfür ihre Hauptkategorie Women’sEuropean Runway ausgezeichnet. 
 
Preise
109€* Full Package Workshop
99€* Full Package Workshop für motion*s Members
89€* Full Package Workshop für BIPOC, Queer/Trans People & Ballroom Community
39€* Single Workshop Day
Um den Workshop zu buchen, klicke hier.
Kostenlose Stornierung bis zu 10h vor Workshopbeginn.
*inkl. MwSt.
Fito_Georgina

KOMMENDE WORKSHOPS & EVENTS

  • WORKSHOP14APR
    Ballroom 101 Workshop Ü35 by Georgina Philp alias Leo Saint Lauren // Open Level
    Sonntag, 14. April 202414:30 – 17:30*****
  • WORKSHOP18APR
    Pop Up Class - Embodied Sensuality meets Zumba / Open Level
    Donnerstag, 18. April 202415:45 – 17:15*****
  • WORKSHOP20APR
    Vogue Fem Special Class by Lucca // Open Level
    Samstag, 20. April 202414:00 – 16:00*****
  • WORKSHOP28APR
    Ballroom 101 Workshop Ü35 by Georgina Philp alias Leo Saint Lauren // Open Level
    Sonntag, 28. April 202414:30 – 17:30*****
  • WORKSHOP05MAI
    Afro Brazilian Contemporary Workshop with Live Drumming by Mel Lou / Open Level mit Mel Lou
    Sonntag, 5. Mai 202413:00 – 16:00*****